Books Are Always Fun…here comes another one!


The Bracelet – A Tag and Book Promotion.

I was thrilled after Tikulicious tagged me in her post. What’s more? she had a task set out for me.  So, first, I thank Tikuli Aunty for tagging me in her blog post and secondly, I thank her for giving me such an interesting quiz to do, because I, for one, LOVE answering questionnaires. 🙂

So here goes:

The Bracelet is a book by newbie Ishaan Lalit. It captures in it mystery, fantasy, legends and myths and I am sure it will give the sense of elation which I feel after reading every book which combines a little of everything I mentioned above. Hence, I am looking forward to reading this book.

Do check the book out and be there at the book launch at Delhi and Faridabad!

Here is a grab of the back cover of the book:

Abhay stood up. He was in a field of grass. Then he heard horses coming. Abhay looked to his right and then to his left, and saw that he was surrounded by horse riders. They stopped just before the dense grass and waited. A man appeared out of nowhere, walked up to him, and held up his hand revealing a bracelet.

What is the secret of the bracelet? Why is everybody after it? And who will get it: the Tantrics or the Arthrakshaks?
Abhay, an ordinary college-going boy, is thrust into a world of secrets, lies, deceit, and supernatural entities. He finds out that he is an integral part of a war that he must win to save himself and his family from destruction. Will he be able to do it? To find out, read this fascinating novel that you just won’t be able to put down!

 

And now comes my favorite part! The Tag! I hope you too will post this on your blog and enjoy this little questionnaire.

1. What does the name suggest?  Could be anything you know, even “Oops its my wife/girl friend’s birthday, what do I get her” Just put it down

Ans.  The name bracelet to me suggests the feminineness of a woman. It suggests the delicate but, also the  powerful body and mind of a woman. A bracelet, however fragile it looks, is strong enough to wrap itself snugly around a woman’s wrist and heart. The traditional Indian bracelet-the bangle becomes a part of a young woman’s identity and a symbol of the colourful culture of India.

2. If your loved one presented you a bracelet, what would you want it to be made of?  Alternatively if you had to present a bracelet to your sweetheart, what would you pick?

a.) Gold

b) Gold and rubies

c) Diamonds babe, just diamonds

d) Whateva, its gotta be expensive and look it!

e) Simple iron kada, or a silver one.  Not showy

Ans. Well, I would really want a sparkly diamond bracelet from my sweetheart. But for want of realism, I would like a simple silver bracelet, so option (e) is the best! I would like to present my sweetheart a simple silver bracelet too….no chains though! (this also probably shows the kind of ‘sweetheart’ I am looking for 😉 )

 

3. Suppose your bracelet (or kada) had magical qualities (Like Aladin’s lamp) what magical qualities would you want it to have?  Let your imagination run riot … anything, money, power, world domination, elixir of youth …. Just pen it down – or punch them keys

Ans. I would like my bracelet to have the power I have always wanted to have- the power to turn back time. Yes, you could say I like to live in the past, but that is how I like it. I want to turn back time to relive the beautiful memories, to learn from the past by closely reading it again, and perhaps even to string together the past, present and future to understand relationships. No wonder I am a history student right?

 

4. Do snakes scare you or do you get strangely fascinated by them?

Ans. That is a tricky question considering some parts of both are true. Yes, snakes do fascinate me: their colours, their texture, their sleek movement, and their sly looks. But like all mysterious and fascinating things, I am also a little scared of them. Perhaps it is because those sly looks spell out ‘Deceit’. Those iridescent colours promise to take you into a world where everything will be beautiful, only for you to get lost in an unknown world forever.

 

5.  Harry Potter could speak Parseltongue.  Do you wish you could?

Ans. This is something I have never thought about. Maybe yes, I would like to speak parseltongue to unravel the mind of the snake and find out if I can trust him after all.

 

6.  What do you dream about?  No this is not about day dreaming, it’s not about wishful thinking, it’s about being in dreamland.

Ans. I dream about people, and thus obviously relationships. I dream about the people and the things I have lost, the people and things I am yet to encounter and of course. I also dream about the present, sometimes in a more twisted way than they really are!

 

7. Do you remember your dreams?

Ans. Yes, I do remember my dreams.

 

8. Ever had your dreams interpreted?

Ans. I try to interpret my dreams on my own. Having done some psychology and being intrigued by Freud, I have always tried to find out why I dreamt what I dreamt. Was my dream a reflection of my fears? or desire? Or both? (Clearly, I am very influenced by Freudian Psychology)

 

9. Do you keep a dream diary?

Ans. No.

 

10. Your favorite wrist jewellery?

a). Bangles

b)  Bracelet

c) Expensive Watch

d) Friendship band

e) Taveez or sacred thread (mouli)

Ans. My favourite piece of wrist jewellery is a bracelet. Simple and showy at the same time. Delicate and feminine. And the perfect accessory to dress up the arms. An expensive watch comes next..in fact very close to the bracelet.

 

I hope you guys will repost this too! I am sure you will enjoy!

1. Blehnblah

2. Indian Scripts

3. Mirror Mirror

4. Jaclyn Rae’s Blog

5. Up and Down Like The Assyrian Empire!

 


 

5 thoughts on “Books Are Always Fun…here comes another one!

  1. Thank you for promoting my book.

    I was really intrigued by your answer of question number four and loved the way you answered the question. It adds a lot of mystery to your image and makes me want to read more of whatever you have written.

    Ishaan Lalit (Author of “The Bracelet”)

  2. @ Phoenixritu: thank you so much for the comment! Yes, it did take me some time to reflect on these questions, but I enjoyed it.
    I will definitely try to make it to the launch. Eager to read the book.

    @Ishaan Lalit: You are most welcome! I think creativity and talent should always be encouraged.
    Also, thank you for reading my answers…i have written them from my heart.
    I too would love to read The Bracelet. All the very Best for your book! And Congratulations!! 🙂

  3. Hi
    Glad you took the tag. Sorry couldn’t comment before .Shubhang is in hospital so been busy. I enjoyed reading it . keep up the good work. Do attend the launch . Best to you .

  4. @tikulicious: Thanks aunty for reading the post.
    yes, i read the status message….praying for him. This is just one of life’s tests and I am sure he will emerge victorious!
    I will try my best to attend the book launch and even try to get some friends along.

    @Ishaan Lalit: Do try to come to India Habitat Centre too please, I think you will get a lovely audience there!

Leave a Reply

