Young Love


Like the little school mate in the school yard
We’ll play jacks and uno cards
I’ll be your best friend and you’ll be my Valentine
Yes you can hold my hand if you want to
‘Cause I want to hold yours too
We’ll be playmates and lovers and share our secret worlds

-Fergie

I was listening to ‘Big Girls Don’t Cry’ after a long time and the song made me nostalgic. It made me think of the time when we were little kids and nothing was so complicated as it is now. We had no qualms about who we loved and who we should love. No shame, no future planning to do. Just to enjoy the presence of that secret crush and that feeling of bliss everytime that person held our hands.

So, I couldn’t help but  write my own poem about young love.

I miss the innocence of childhood love.

That purity of the peck on the cheek

The fun in the games we played in the park

That coy laughter when we shared a secret

And knew that no one could ever find out what we were talking about

No commitments

And no liars

No cheating

No drama

We knew we were happy

Just with each other

Didn’t need anything else to discover

When we had our own secrets

Our own stories to tell

Our own stories to believe in

We knew it wouldn’t last

But that didn’t bother us much

The present mattered the most

The future would hold a lot

I miss that innocence of the past

When there were no heartbreaks

Only joy and laughter

There would be no goodbyes

Only love that would last

2 thoughts on “Young Love

Leave a Reply

